Registered members don't see ads. Please CLICK HERE to register, its FREE!,
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 68
  1. #1

    How to properly install and set a Vortec Distributor

    So S10wildside had a good pdf over on eficonnection site about how to set the camshaft sensor using a vortec distributor for his 24x system, however he's changed his site several times and I can't keep track of where that link is so I wrote an article a bit more specific on how to properly install and set the vortec distributor.

    you can read the article at http://www.gmtruckcentral.com/articles/distributor.html

    Please feel free to discuss it or ask any questions here in this thread.
    '96 C1500 ECSB, 5.7L the "LS31", T56, 411 PCM, EFILive self-tuned, LC-1, Distributorless 24x CNP, LS2 coils,
    ZZ4 cam, Custom MPFI, RHS heads, Hydroboost, LT's/dual 3", Mark VIII Fan,
    Truetrac, 4.88, sound deadened, DEH-P600UB, Polk comps/10", kicker amps.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Whipped383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    SlUt
    Posts
    3,666
    Hey jus doest the rotor once installed align with the 8 stamped into the distributor? also pulling #1 spark plug and put your finger over it while turning to tdc is much easier then pulling a valve cover.

    03 K2500HD,8.1 (496), Allison Trans, Wanted:Steering Wheel Buttons with DIC, Bucket Seats, Fog Light Bumper, Whipple Coming Soon

    97 K1500,383, 4L60E, Whipple, Stock 14 Bolt with 3.73, EFILive V2, 0411,2 BAR MAP, Marine Intake, #42 Injectors, H-Boost, LC-1 wideband,

    68 K10, 350, Edelbrock carb & Performer intake, MSD, LT Headers, Bent Frame Out To Pasture

    55Chev 3100 Series, C4 Independent Front And Rear Suspension, Work Outa Progress,

  3. #3
    the rotor button itself will align up where it needs to with this procedure of installation, IIRC it can only be installed one way (been a while since I had a distributor.) this procedure will give the most accurate sensor alignment before using a scanner.

    yeah, you can remove plug #1 like you said. watching the valves can be a little more precise which is why I covered that method mostly in the article, but either way will work.
    Last edited by Aloicious; October 28th, 2011 at 09:33 PM.
    '96 C1500 ECSB, 5.7L the "LS31", T56, 411 PCM, EFILive self-tuned, LC-1, Distributorless 24x CNP, LS2 coils,
    ZZ4 cam, Custom MPFI, RHS heads, Hydroboost, LT's/dual 3", Mark VIII Fan,
    Truetrac, 4.88, sound deadened, DEH-P600UB, Polk comps/10", kicker amps.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator HellKnightHicks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Irvine, Ky
    Posts
    2,722
    Nice write up...

    Would it be possible to get a little tutorial on setting EFI live up to hold the RPM?
    2012 Camaro SS2 (544HP/500TQ) MagnaCharger Cam Headers...
    1996 C1500 3 door, bed cover, 20 drop 20"s.
    1997 K1500 X Cab, {The Road Warrior}, Only thing stock is the frame and body ;)

    www.prosilversystems.com

  5. #5
    yeah, its really easy, when you open up the scan tool and get connected to the PCM, click on the DVT tab, under DVT you want to go to the engine control tab. now make sure the taget controller is set for your PCM (with the 411 it is the LS1B 99-08 genIII controller), and click the big activate button, this will turn on the bidi controls...now you'll see the 'activate Idle control' checkbox, go ahead and check it, then click RPM, and move the slider to whatever RPM you want the engine to be set at. for the CMP offset, you'll want something around 1000-1200rpm.

    when you're done using it, unclick the 'activate idle control' checkbox, and then click the deactivate button to return the idle control to normal.
    '96 C1500 ECSB, 5.7L the "LS31", T56, 411 PCM, EFILive self-tuned, LC-1, Distributorless 24x CNP, LS2 coils,
    ZZ4 cam, Custom MPFI, RHS heads, Hydroboost, LT's/dual 3", Mark VIII Fan,
    Truetrac, 4.88, sound deadened, DEH-P600UB, Polk comps/10", kicker amps.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator HellKnightHicks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Irvine, Ky
    Posts
    2,722
    Thanks
    2012 Camaro SS2 (544HP/500TQ) MagnaCharger Cam Headers...
    1996 C1500 3 door, bed cover, 20 drop 20"s.
    1997 K1500 X Cab, {The Road Warrior}, Only thing stock is the frame and body ;)

    www.prosilversystems.com

  7. #7
    Okay I've done this like 10 times and still can't get the timing right. I have a P0300 code - random/multiple misfire and am pretty sure it's because the timing isn't set right. I understand that final adjustments are made with a computer, but it will barely run now. What should I do?

  8. #8
    Senior Member Whipped383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    SlUt
    Posts
    3,666
    What I cant figure out is if I set the CMP offset with my otc or snap on scanner I get it dead on but when I hook up efilive it says Im like 30* off witch I know cant be because anything over 15* throws a code

    03 K2500HD,8.1 (496), Allison Trans, Wanted:Steering Wheel Buttons with DIC, Bucket Seats, Fog Light Bumper, Whipple Coming Soon

    97 K1500,383, 4L60E, Whipple, Stock 14 Bolt with 3.73, EFILive V2, 0411,2 BAR MAP, Marine Intake, #42 Injectors, H-Boost, LC-1 wideband,

    68 K10, 350, Edelbrock carb & Performer intake, MSD, LT Headers, Bent Frame Out To Pasture

    55Chev 3100 Series, C4 Independent Front And Rear Suspension, Work Outa Progress,

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by zq8blazer View Post
    Okay I've done this like 10 times and still can't get the timing right. I have a P0300 code - random/multiple misfire and am pretty sure it's because the timing isn't set right. I understand that final adjustments are made with a computer, but it will barely run now. What should I do?
    the P0300 code may not be related to the offset. is the P0300 the only code you're getting with it?

    Quote Originally Posted by Whipped383 View Post
    What I cant figure out is if I set the CMP offset with my otc or snap on scanner I get it dead on but when I hook up efilive it says Im like 30* off witch I know cant be because anything over 15* throws a code
    I'm not sure either, is this on a blackbox PCM, or is this with your truck's 411? I've found some odd things when it comes to scanners and the blackboxes....
    '96 C1500 ECSB, 5.7L the "LS31", T56, 411 PCM, EFILive self-tuned, LC-1, Distributorless 24x CNP, LS2 coils,
    ZZ4 cam, Custom MPFI, RHS heads, Hydroboost, LT's/dual 3", Mark VIII Fan,
    Truetrac, 4.88, sound deadened, DEH-P600UB, Polk comps/10", kicker amps.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator HellKnightHicks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Irvine, Ky
    Posts
    2,722
    Yea black boxes throw some weird numbers when your scanning them for timing advance. Ive seen strange numbers come from mine when looking at it with my blue tooth reader
    2012 Camaro SS2 (544HP/500TQ) MagnaCharger Cam Headers...
    1996 C1500 3 door, bed cover, 20 drop 20"s.
    1997 K1500 X Cab, {The Road Warrior}, Only thing stock is the frame and body ;)

    www.prosilversystems.com

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •